Poor little rich boy? More like poor little Scooby, getting second billing to Richie, Cadbury and Dollar. This Show ran new episodes of “Richie Rich” and reruns of “Scooby and Scrappy-Doo” along with new episodes of Scooby and Scrappy-Doo which are listed below.

This Scooby-Doo series veered from the mystery format of the classic episodes and focused on humourous gags, and it took Fred, Velma, and Daphne out of the mix. The other big change is that instead of bad guys wearing masks, it was real witches, zombies and monsters causing all the trouble.

As a kid in the 80’s I really loved this series. But in my teens and early 20’s I thought it was the most uncool thing ever. Now as a middle-aged man, I see why the made the decision to switch to this format. For one, they ran out of mysteries to write about for the gang. And two, they had to appease a new audience of sugared up cereal munching kids who demanded the snap, crackle, pop of action packed episodes with gags. Staying profitable in the Saturday morning cartoon network wars was a dog eat dog world, and without Scrappy, Scooby may have been eaten alive.

Each seven minute episode featured Scooby, Shaggy and Scrappy-Doo travelling around the world, or in some cases otherworldly locations.

Premiered: Nov 8, 1980 and ran till Sept 18 1982, on ABC on Saturday’s from 9:30 – 10:30 AM
Episode Length: 7 Minutes

The Richie Rich/Scooby-Doo Hour - Season One - 1980-1981

Episode NumberEpisode Name
80001A Close Encounter with A Strange Kind
80002A Fit Night Out for Bats
80003The Chinese Food Factory
80004Scooby's Desert Dilemma
80005The Old Cat and Mouse Game
80007Mummy's the Word
80008Hang In There Scooby
80009Stuntman Scooby
80010Scooby's Three Ding-A-Ling Circus
80011Scooby's Fantastic Island
80012Long John Scrappy
80013Scooby's Bull Fright
80014Scooby Ghosts West
80015A Bungle in the Jungle
80016Scooby's Fun Zone
80017Swamp Witch
80018Sir Scooby and the Black Knight
80020Scooby in Wonderland
80021Scrappy's Birthday
80022South Seas Scare
80023Scooby's Swiss Miss
80024Alaskan King Coward
80025Et Tu, Scoob?
80026Soggy Bog Scooby
80027Scooby Gumbo
80028Way Out Scooby
80029Strongman Scooby
80030Moonlight Madness
80031Dog Tag Scooby
80032Scooby at the Center of the World
80033Scooby's Trip to Ahz
80034A Fright at the Opera
80035Robot Ranch
80036Surprised Spies
80037The Invasion of the Scooby Snatchers
80038Sccooby Dooby Guru
80039Scooby and the Bandit

The Richie Rich/Scooby-Doo Show - Season Two - 1981-1982

Episode NumberEpisode Name
81001Scooby Nocchio
81002Lighthouse Keeper Scooby
81003Scooby's Roots
81004Scooby's Escape from Atlantis
81005Excalibur Scooby
81006Scooby Saves the World
81007Scooby Dooby Goo
81008Rickshaw Scooby
81009Scooby's Luck of the Irish
81010Backstage Scooby
81011Scooby's House of Mystery
81012Sweet Dreams Scooby
81013Scooby-Doo 2000
81014Punk Rock Scooby
81015Canine to Five
81016Hardhat Scooby
81017Hothouse Scooby
81018Pigskin Scooby
81019Sopwith Scooby
81021Scooby and the Beanstalk